A Year With Frog and Toad

Spring 2017

April 25 – May 19, 2017

Music by Robert Reale
Book and Lyrics by Willie Reale
Based on the books by Arnold Lobel

Originally presented on Broadway by Bob Boyett, Adrianne Lobel, Michael Gardner, Lawrence Horowitz and Roy Furman

World Premiere at The Children’s Theatre Company
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Directed by David and Julie Payne
Musical Direction by Keith Ewer
Choreography by Piper Arpan

"Audiences are literally watching some of their favorite stories come to life" - Arvada Press

A Year With Frog and Toad follows the woodland adventures of two amphibious friends, a worrywart toad, and a perky frog, with their assorted colorful hopping, crawling and flying companions, over the course of a year. Waking from hibernation in the spring, Frog and Toad plant gardens, swim, rake leaves, go sledding, and learn life lessons along the way. The two best friends celebrate and rejoice in their differences that make them unique and special. Part vaudeville, part make-believe, all charm, A Year With Frog And Toad tells the story of a friendship that endures, weathering all seasons.

The musical broke new ground by bringing professional children's theatre to Broadway and was nominated for 3 Tony Awards - including Best Musical.


A Year With Frog and Toad will be Audio Described for the sight impaired on Tuesday, May 9 at 10:00 a.m. and noon. It will be Shadow-interpreted for the hearing impaired on Thursday, May 11 at 10:00 a.m. and noon, as well as Friday, May 12 at 10:00 a.m. Shadow-interpreted theatre utilizes specially trained American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters to perform as “shadows” on stage alongside actors. There will also be sensory friendly performances on Monday, May 8 at noon and Saturday, May 20 at 3:00 p.m. Sensory-friendly performances are exclusively produced for patrons with autism, Down Syndrome and sensory processing disorders and their families. 

A Year With Frog and Toad Cast List

Brandon Bill - Frog
Matt LaFontaine - Toad
Melissa Morris - Mouse, Ensemble, Lady Bird, Squirrel, Mole
Ben Griffin - Lizard, Ensemble, Man Bird, Squirrel, Mole
Lindsay Weidig - Ensemble, Lady Bird, Squirrel, Mole
Maggie Tisdale - Turtle, Ensemble, Lady Bird, Squirrel, Mole
Carter Smith - Snail, Man Bird, Mole

Main Stage Performances

Apr 25 Tues 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
Apr 26 Wed 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
Apr 27 Thurs 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
Apr 28 Fri 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 1 Mon 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 2 Tues 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 3 Wed 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 4 Thurs 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 5 Fri 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 8 Mon 12:00 p.m. - Sensory Friendly
May 9 Tues 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m. - Audio Described
May 10 Wed 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 11 Thurs 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m. - Shadow Interpreted
May 12 Fri 10:00 a.m. - Shadow Interpreted & 12:00 p.m.
May 13 Sat 11:00 a.m. & 1:00 p.m.
May 16 Tues 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 17 Wed 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 18 Thurs 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 19 Fri 10:00 a.m. & 12:00 p.m.
May 20 Sat 3:00 p.m. - Sensory Friendly

Spring 2017 School Registration for A Year with Frog and Toad

Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities 6901 Wadsworth BlvdArvada, Colorado 80003-9985

Related Photos