Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities Awarded Outstanding Theatre Season

Arvada CO – Arvada Center productions, directors, actors, and designers were recognized on July 23 at the Colorado Theatre Guild’s 13th annual Henry Awards. The Arvada Center won or tied for eight of the 29 nominations it received, including three awards for Sense and Sensibility, directed by Lynne Collins. The 29 nominations were also the most nominations netted by a Colorado theatre in the history of the awards. The Center received the evening’s highest honor – Outstanding Season for a Theatre Company – for the first time since 2012. Read more about this year’s Henry winners on the Arvada Center website:

Kate Hamill’s contemporary adaption of Sense and Sensibility launched the Arvada Center’s second Black Box repertory season, featuring a company of actors and designers. Arvada Center’s Artistic Director of Plays Lynne Collins tied the award for Best Direction of a Play (alongside Christy Montour-Larson, who will direct The Diary of Anne Frank at the Arvada Center in the spring). The production also won for Outstanding Ensemble and Outstanding Production of a Play.

Shannon McKinney received her record seventh Henry Award for the lighting design of Sunday in the Park with George, and costume designer Clare Henkel received her first Henry (after 10 nominations) for the same production.

Brian Mallgrave won his fourth Outstanding Scenic Design award for Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, and choreographer Kitty Skillman Hilsabeck received her fourth award for Outstanding Choreography for Joseph.

Established in 2006, the Henry Awards honor outstanding achievements during the past season and serves as the Colorado Theatre Guild’s annual fundraising event. The awards are named for longtime Colorado theatre producer Henry Lowenstein who passed away in 2014.  Nominations are determined through a judging process conducted by statewide theatre reporters, educators, and assigned judges.

The complete list of 2018 Arvada Center Henry Award winners:

•             Outstanding Season for a Theatre Company

•             Outstanding Production of a Play (Sense and Sensibility)

•             Outstanding Direction of a Play (Lynne Collins, for Sense and Sensibility)

•             Outstanding Ensemble Performance (Sense and Sensibility)

•     Outstanding Choreography (Kitty Skillman Hilsabeck, for Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat)

•             Outstanding Scenic Design (Brian Mallgrave, for Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat)

•             Outstanding Costume Design (Clare Henkel, for Sunday in the Park with George)

•             Outstanding Lighting Design (Shannon McKinney, for Sunday in the Park with George)